noobincome.blogg.se

Programming sonic pi ruby list directory contents
Programming sonic pi ruby list directory contents






By translating it, transcoding it, remediating it, we begin to see elements of the data that our familiarity with visual modes of expression have blinded us to. Part of the point of this tutorial is to make your data unfamiliar again.

programming sonic pi ruby list directory contents

The meaning of that noise, well… that’s up to you. In this tutorial, you will learn to make some noise from your data about the past. Visual? We have had visual representations of the past for so long, we have almost forgotten the artistic and performative aspect of those grammars of expression. Its associations with sounds, music, and tones I’ve heard before create a deep temporal experience, a system of embodied relationships between myself and the past. The music engages my whole body, my whole imagination. I can feel the bass I can move to the rhythm. Nevertheless, when I hear an instrument, I can imagine the physicality of the player playing it in its echoes and resonances I can discern the physical space. I want to hear the meaning of the past, but I know that I can’t. The resulting aural experience is a literal ‘deformance’ (portmanteau of ‘deform’ and ‘perform’) that makes us hear modern layers of the past in a new way. In sonifying data, I literally perform the past in the present, and so the assumptions, the transformations, I make are foregrounded. Drucker famously reminds us that ‘data’ are not really things given, but rather things captured, things transformed: that is to say, ‘capta’. I want to figure out a grammar for representing data in sound that is appropriate for history. Paul’s or the work of Jeff Veitch on ancient Ostia), I am interested instead to ’sonify’ what I have right now, the data themselves. While there is a deep history and literature on archaeoacoustics and soundscapes that try to capture the sound of a place as it was ( see for instance the Virtual St.

programming sonic pi ruby list directory contents programming sonic pi ruby list directory contents

Let me hear something of the past instead. We are perhaps too tied to our screens, too much invested in ‘seeing’. There are any number of guides that will help you visualize that past which cannot be seen, but often we forget what a creative act visualization is. Ποίησις - fabrication, creation, production A quick word about getting Python set up.








Programming sonic pi ruby list directory contents